The mechanical NEMA frame size only standardises the mounting faceplate, bolt circle, pilot, and shaft diameter under NEMA ICS 16-2001; it does not specify holding torque, current, or speed class, and that is where most stepper selection mistakes start [S1][S2].
The shorthand NEMA 17 = 42-frame, NEMA 23 = 57-frame, NEMA 34 = 86-frame, and NEMA 42 = 110-frame is a faceplate conversion, not a performance class, and the two 42-frame NEMA 17 motors on a vendor shelf can sit at 0.2 N·m or 0.6 N·m of holding torque, a 3× spread for the same mounting envelope [S1]. High-torque units are simply longer-body, lower-inductance windings of the same frame, which is why a stepper motor spec must always be read against the pull-out curve, never the catalogue frame number.
What the NEMA Number Actually Locks Down
NEMA ICS 16-2001 fixes four mechanical interfaces and nothing else: the square flange width, the mounting-hole pattern, the pilot diameter and depth, and the shaft diameter [S1]. For NEMA 23 the faceplate is 57.2 × 57.2 mm with a 47.14 mm mounting-hole centre distance, a 1.5000 in (38.1 mm) pilot at 0.06–0.13 in depth, and a 0.2500 in (6.35 mm) shaft; for NEMA 34 the same fields are 86.3 × 86.3 mm, 2.8750 in pilot, and 0.3750 in (9.525 mm) shaft [S1].
What the NEMA number does not fix includes holding torque, rated current, phase resistance and inductance, step angle (1.8° or 0.9°), axial body length, insulation class, IP rating, and the question of whether the motor ships with an integrated gearbox or leadscrew [S1][S2]. That is why the JSS MOTOR procurement team warns that an RFQ asking for "NEMA 23 stepper motor" is enough to start a quote but not enough to confirm a model, since the same NEMA 23 envelope ships in short-body and long-body variants with very different torque-speed behaviour [S3].
Typical Holding Torque by Frame (2026 Market Range)
Across the four industrial frames, holding torque covers roughly two orders of magnitude: NEMA 17 sits around 30–80 N·cm (0.3–0.8 N·m) at 0.8–2.0 A phase current, NEMA 23 lands at 100–300 N·cm (1.0–3.0 N·m) at 2.0–4.5 A, NEMA 34 spans 4.0–8.0 N·m at 4.0–6.0 A, and NEMA 42 reaches the 8–12 N·m band used in heavy gantries and large-format CNC [S4][S5].
The driver voltage story matters as much as the torque headline: a NEMA 17 with high inductance above 4 mH loses more torque at 500 RPM than a low-inductance 1.5 mH winding on the same frame, and pairing the motor with a 24–48 V chopper stepper drive is what unlocks the higher-RPM end of the published curve [S5]. LeanMotor's product line tracks the same envelope, with 2–6 V coil ratings on NEMA 17 and 3–8 V on NEMA 23, and 5 mm versus 6.35–8 mm shaft diameters that drive the coupling choice downstream [S4].
Frame-Size Decision Matrix for the Engineer

Selection on frame size alone collapses into four criteria, and the matrix below is what should be used instead of the NEMA number: [S2]
• Compact, light load, tight envelope (3D printers, camera sliders, lab automation, inspection stages) → NEMA 17, 42 × 42 mm, 30–80 N·cm, 5 mm shaft, 0.8–2.0 A; limit is torque margin, so always check working-speed torque, not holding torque [S3][S4].<br/>• General industrial mid-band (packaging, labelling, light CNC auxiliaries, pick-and-place, X-Y gantries) → NEMA 23, 57 × 57 mm, 100–300 N·cm, 6.35–8 mm shaft, 2.0–4.5 A; this is the volume workhorse frame and pairs with the widest driver ecosystem [S3][S4].<br/>• Heavy router axes, mid-size CNC mills, high-inertia conveyors → NEMA 34, 86 × 86 mm, 4.0–8.0 N·m, 9.525–12.7 mm shaft, 4.0–6.0 A; higher rotor inertia must be checked against the acceleration demand [S1][S5].<br/>• Industrial gantries, large-format CNC, replacement of small servos → NEMA 42, 110 × 110 mm, 8–12 N·m, 15.875–19 mm shaft; budget for higher bus voltage and a chopper drive that can swing the phase current [S1].
The Oriental Motor and Electrical Flux guidance converges on the same sizing rule: target a 2× to 3× safety factor on torque at the working speed, and expect a 50%+ torque loss by 500 RPM from the holding-torque headline due to winding time constants [S5][S6]. The Micro Motor NEMA chart for industrial load capacity covers NEMA 8 through NEMA 42 and confirms that RPM and load capacity scale with frame but are not defined by it, which is the same point ICS 16-2001 makes mechanically [S7].
Frame Size vs. Body Length vs. Winding: Where the Torque Hides
Within one frame, the dominant torque variable is axial body length: a long-body NEMA 23 (often designated 23HS or 23H) typically delivers 50–100% more holding torque than the short-body (23S) variant on the same driver bus [S1][S3]. Winding design is the second variable: low-inductance windings (around 1.5 mH on NEMA 17) trade some low-speed torque for much better high-speed pull-out, while high-inductance windings (above 4 mH) hold more torque at zero speed but collapse faster once the rotor starts turning [S5].
Two practical field checks separate a real high-torque motor from a marketing relabel. First, weigh the unit: a high-torque NEMA 23 long-body is typically 1.4–1.8 kg, while a short-body of the same frame is closer to 0.6–0.9 kg, and the rotor stack length shows up directly in the body length dimension on the datasheet [S1]. Second, read the inductance line, not the headline: a 3 mH NEMA 23 on a 24 V supply behaves nothing like a 1.2 mH NEMA 23 on the same 24 V supply, and the published torque-speed curve at 24 V versus 48 V is the only honest comparison [S5]. A short-body NEMA 23 on a high-voltage chopper drive can still outperform a long-body NEMA 23 on a 12 V L/R driver at 1000 RPM, which is why the stepper drive selection is inseparable from the motor selection.
When Frame Size is the Wrong Question

Three application classes break the NEMA shortcut. First, anything above ~1000 RPM continuous operation: the stepper torque curve has already fallen into the 30–50% of holding-torque band, and a small brushless servo or a NEMA 34 with low-inductance windings will outperform a generic NEMA 23 every time [S5]. Second, vertical axes or any axis that back-drives under load: the open-loop stepper has no torque margin for a stall event, so the right answer is either a gearbox with a mechanical brake or a closed-loop stepper with an encoder, not a larger frame [S3].
Third, hazardous or washdown environments: NEMA ICS 16-2001 does not specify IP rating or insulation class, so a "NEMA 23" with IP65 and Class H insulation is not mechanically interchangeable with a "NEMA 23" with IP20 and Class B, even though the bolt pattern matches [S1][S2]. The lean procurement check is to add holding-torque tolerance, phase inductance, body length, shaft detail, and duty-cycle to the RFQ, and to confirm the vendor's pull-out curve at the actual bus voltage before signing the PO [S3].
Interchange Pitfalls Across "42/57/86" Labelling
Asian and metric-labelled stock often states "42 frame" or "57 frame" with the 42.3 mm or 57.2 mm faceplate, and it still drops into a standard NEMA 17 or NEMA 23 mounting pattern because the ICS 16-2001 tolerance band allows the under-1.7 in / under-2.3 in faceplate [S1][S2]. Shaft diameter is the trap: NEMA 23 catalogues list 6.35 mm (1/4 in) as the default but vendors also ship 8 mm shafts on the same frame, and an 8 mm coupling on a 6.35 mm shaft (or vice versa) is a field failure waiting to happen [S1][S2].
Mounting-hole centre distance is the single fastest field identification: 47.14 mm for NEMA 23, 69.5 mm class for NEMA 34, and 98.0 mm class for NEMA 42, and a 1 mm error there is the difference between a swap-in replacement and a reworked bracket [S1]. The same logic rules out mixing a metric 86 mm faceplace stepper from one vendor with an NEMA 34 mount from another unless the pilot and bolt circle are measured against ICS 16-2001 and not the marketing label, a check that is also called out in the stepper motor reference page.
Actionable Selection Workflow

Step 1, compute load torque at working speed, not holding torque, and apply a 2× to 3× safety margin before any frame is shortlisted [S5]. Step 2, shortlist by NEMA number only to fix the bolt pattern and shaft envelope, then read each candidate's pull-out curve at the actual driver bus voltage (24 V, 48 V, or 80 V) [S1][S3]. Step 3, confirm body length against the available bracket depth and verify the rotor inertia against the demanded acceleration, since a larger frame with a longer rotor can actually slow the axis if acceleration is the bottleneck [S1].
Step 4, lock the stepper drive current and microstepping mode first, then re-check the motor's thermal limit at the operating duty cycle, because the same NEMA 23 at 100% duty with 3 A phase will need either a Class H insulation or a current derating that a NEMA 23 datasheet does not always state explicitly [S3][S5]. Step 5, for any axis that resembles the linear actuator motor S2/S3 duty rating problem, treat the stepper selection as a thermal problem, not a torque problem, and document the duty cycle on the PO.
Standards and Sourcing Anchors
The governing document for the mechanical interface is NEMA ICS 16-2001 (Motion/Position Control Motors, Controls and Feedback Devices), and it is the only standards reference the frame-size discussion legitimately rests on [S1][S2]. Electrical performance (torque, current, speed) sits outside that standard, which is why two vendors can ship "NEMA 23" motors that behave differently on the same axis, and why the procurement specification has to add electrical and thermal fields on top of the NEMA number [S1][S3].
For metric environments, treat the 42/57/86/110 mm faceplate as a derived shorthand rather than a separate standard, and always verify the bolt circle and pilot against the actual ICS 16-2001 dimensions before approving a substitute [S2]. Where the application overlaps with the Ball Spline Preload Classes Z0/Z1/Z2 selection problem, the same rule applies: pick by mechanical interface first, then re-pick by performance curve, and never the other way around.
Trackable next signals: a vendor's pull-out curve at the actual bus voltage (24/48/80 V), the rotor inertia value in kg·cm² for the chosen body length, and the phase inductance in mH, because these three numbers are what separate a true high-torque stepper from a long-body relabel of a stock NEMA frame.
For component-level specifications, see high voltage tester.